Live in the moment

How do you make 5 pounds of fat look good?

Put a nipple on it.

In 2 days I will be headed to my hysterectomy surgery at mother Frances. Currently I’m sitting in New Mexico, enjoying a cup O’ joe and getting ready for day 4 of our vacation.

We had planned 2 trips this year before I found out I needed another surgery- this one & a cruise with my sisters in July.

So far this trip has not disappointed at all! We’ve visited many historic sights and some super cool locations. Today we plan to hang around ruidoso & do some local sight seeing. Tomorrow we will start heading home and on Tuesday we get up early to go to the hospital.

The key to surviving successfully after a life changing diagnosis like breast cancer is to always live in the moment. Don’t let a diagnosis determine your happiness or hold you back.

We’ve struggled hard after my surgeries when I’ve been unable to work, but with God’s help and the kindness of our friends, we’ve made it through. Being able to sell some stuff in order to afford this trip was a blessing too. The day before we were due to leave someone bought our elliptical/bike & that really helped pad our pockets & enable us to eat some meals out & get gas.

Next weekend is our annual carnival. I might not be able to help set it up like normal, but we’ve got some friends coming to help us so we can keep the tradition going- this is year 5.

Leave a comment